Whatsapp, one of the most popular instant messaging services in the world recently launched a feature called ‘Delete For Everyone’. This feature allowed the sender to remove an sent message within seven minutes of sending users, giving users enough time to remove messages with typo or any other incorrect details.
Excluding ‘Delete For Everyone’ is actually quite easy
Although this new feature means great relief for many people, we have some bad news. A new search has shown that ‘remove for everyone’ can easily be removed in two simple ways.
The first method involves quoting a message just before being removed for everyone within seven minutes. Initially revealed by The Next Web, it is being told that this is actually a feature and not a bug.
The message quotation will continue to show the text of the deleted message on the recipient’s device, the ‘delete for everyone’ feature will be rendered useless.
The second method includes access to notification history on Android. Users can use a third-party app to access the full notification logs to read the text in deleted Whatsapp messages.
So, how can this really be done?
A third party app called Notification History can be downloaded from the Google Play store. Perhaps other similar apps are available, but Next Web has used it.
After downloading the app, users will have to search for deleted messages in the Android notification log. Those using third-party launcher like Nova Launcher will find it easy.
“Notification logs can be accessed without the need for additional app. Long press the Home screen, then tap Widgets> Activities> Settings> Notification logs, then you can access the system’s notification log from here, “Blog explains.
However, you can see only the first 100 characters of the message, not the whole thing.
On stock Android, the setting can also access the widget notification log.
This can be done for any given message on your device, but this method will not work if you never received a message.
That’s all for now.